The Right Thing In The Wrong Place

Who doesn’t love the smell of freshly cut grass in the summer time? We all enjoy sitting out on the porch as the sun goes down and taking in the wonderful scent of a freshly mowed lawn. I am no different. I love working in my yard and making it look good and clean. Well today I was raking the rows in my gardens and I started getting a little frustrated because of all the grass in my gardens. I pulled it out along with a few weeds and even picked up a few rocks from in between the plants. A little bit later I decided that it was time to mow the lawn. As I was doing so I started noticing several bare spots in the yard and made a mental note to fertilize the yard. Within a moment the thought came to mind that I am often the same way with the Lord. Just a few minutes earlier I was frustrated because there was grass growing in my garden and here I am now preparing to get it to grow again. The grass is a wonderful thing, but it was just in the wrong place. So many times we allow things in our life that are not necessarily wrong, it’s just not the right time. It’s sad how many times we try to get ahead of God because we think we know better. Solomon tells us in the scriptures that there is a time and a season to every purpose under the heavens. We tend to think that because someone else is doing it and God is blessing them that it’s ok for us to do it. This is not always true. Sometimes God is still working on us and knows that we aren’t quite ready yet. We make decisions in life without seeking the will of God first. There is so much in our lives that isn’t necessarily sin, but it doesn’t belong there. Isaiah tells us that if we wait upon the Lord He will renew our strength. To renew means to bring back that which once was. If He is to renew our strength, then our strength must first be drained. So often we spend so much effort in doing things our way that God has to bring us all the way back down to the bottom for us to realize that His ways are always better and best. Thinking on it now its almost comical that one moment i’m chopping and pulling grass up and throwing it away and the next i’m trying to grow it again. The Christian life is much the same. One day we’re praising God for His greatness and mercy and the next we’re trying to bypass His ways because we think we know better. Just as the grass in my garden, life is a never ending struggle. It’s during those times of struggle that we learn to wholly lean on Him and trust His works, His Word and His ways. Effort and work are great things, but we must make sure we are making the effort to work for Christ and not for ourselves. This is why the Apostle Paul said he “died daily.” Not a physical death, but a spiritual one to himself. He made sure that he cleared his life of the unnecessary things that would hold him back from giving his all for Christ. The grass in my garden, if left alone, would eventually choke out all my vegetable plants and I wouldn’t have any food to put up. We must have the same mind as we are living for the Lord. We must be like David and give God the reigns of our lives and allow Him to search us of anything that will choke away our love and desire to serve Him. Do you have grass growing in your spiritual garden? Are you like David and asking God to search your life and weed out the wicked ways and get rid of anything that will hinder you from serving Him to full capacity? Though the grass may look and smell good, it is harmful in the long run if not taken out of my garden. The same is true in our lives. If we don’t spiritually weed ourselves then eventually we will be choked and hindered from serving the Lord. May God help me to take the time each day to repent of my sins and ask God clean and weed my life and heart so that I can make a difference for Him today!

Leave a Reply

