Whats the Score?

I have never been into football all that much. I don’t mind watching the game on tv or going to a baseball game or having fun with friends and family in the yard, but I’ve never been an extreme fan. Maybe you are, but I just don’t get that much satisfaction out of it. Lately, it’s all I hear. It’s time for football season and people are excited. That’s great if you look forward to it, but at the same time it’s a bit concerning.

 

Now I’m not gonna be one of those self righteous Christians that says football is sin. Let me make it very clear that football is not a sin. What I see, though, are Christians who will give 100% during football season, yet the rest of the year God gets less than your best. If we can give 100% for a game, why not give at least 100% for Jesus?

 

I see posts on facebook everyday about football scores and discussions about the game. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, but are we willing to talk about Jesus as much as we talk about football? Are we willing to get as excited about worship on Sunday as we are about the upcoming game? I see people everyday checking scores on their phones, tablets, laptops, and all their other devices every few minutes, yet we can’t find the time to read a few verses of scripture every day. We can cheer for our favorite team, but we sit like frogs on a lily pad during worship. We can sit and watch the game for hours on end and even watch reruns of the same game multiple times, but we get upset at the preacher for going over 15 minutes during his sermon.

 

This doesn’t only apply to football, but other aspects of life as well. We can make anything into a sin if we put it before Christ in our lives. While I may not have that problem when it comes to sports, I do in other areas. There are times when I give 100% in the job or out in the field or even at writing a blog, yet I give Jesus less than my best. This lesson can be applied to anything in our lives that we put ahead of Christ. Football is just something relatable at the current time, but it goes much further than just football. Our families can be put ahead of God. Our careers can come before Christ in our lives. Some may have a tendency to put their health ahead of Christ in their lives.

 

The lesson is that we should give Jesus 100% every single day of our lives because He is more than worthy. If it weren’t for Christ, we wouldn’t even have these other things that seem so important to us. So I have to ask myself, “How can I give Jesus 100% today?” May God help me to put Christ first in my life and everything else will fall into place.

 

 

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” – Matthew 6:33

 

Leave a Reply

