The Blessing of Life

Have you ever stopped to think about the frailty of life? Does it ever cross our minds how fragile life really is? Unfortunately we entangle ourselves with the affairs and responsibilities of everyday life that we take life itself for granted. It is not until we are completely blind sided by the unthinkable that we truly start to realize just how fragile and how special life truly is.

I have been reminded recently of how fragile our lives are, as well as how special they are. My heart aches for mothers all over our great Nation who are sitting beside a son or daughter expecting them to take their last breath and waiting for the heart of their precious child to beat one last time. Meanwhile, we are griping because we missed part of the game. I think of a son or a daughter sitting beside the bed of a mother or father as they slowly drift off into eternity as victims of cruel disease and illness. A mother who ironed her kid’s school clothes and her husband’s work shirts for years on end. A father who worked tirelessly to provide for his family and give them a wonderful life to enjoy. Now this son, now this daughter, now they are watching as the life slowly fades from their precious parent’s eyes. Meanwhile, we’re complaining because we had to wait in line too long at starbucks.

I know life is busy. Like everyone else I get caught up in the hustle and bustle of the daily grind and schedule. But we must take the time to stop every once in a while and remember just how blessed our lives are. Just how good God truly has been to us. Don’t take one minute for granted. Make it count for what is right. Don’t get so caught up in financing life that you forget to live it. Money can be replaced. A car can be replaced. That house can be replaced. That corporate position can be replaced. But life, well we only have one chance. Our lives can’t be replaced. There is an old saying that goes “Only one life, t’will soon be past. Only whats done for Christ will last.”

May God help me to be thankful everyday for the life He has graciously given me. I sang in church last night a song entitled “Thank You Lord For Your Blessings On Me.” The second verse of that song talks about how that I may not be wealthy and these clothes are not new, and I don’t have much money, but Lord I have you. So much more truth to that than we often realize. I don’t have much money, but my bills are paid. I don’t have wealth, but I’m healthy enough to make it through another day. I don’t have the newest car, but I can get where I’m going. I may not live in a luxurious home, but I have a roof over my head and a good place to sleep.

Start the day by just giving thanks where it is due. God has been better to me than I will ever come close to deserving. Spend a moment today to thank God for your life. Kiss your spouse a little longer. Hug the kids a little tighter. Love a little deeper. You don’t have much, but you have life, and that is worth more than all the wealth in the world.

 

“Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.” — James 4:14

Leave a Reply

