The Journey of Time

Isn’t it funny how that time has a way of changing how we think and view life? I’m chopping firewood this morning before the weather gets too hot today to swing an axe. As I’m chopping, splitting, cutting, and stacking wood just like any other day, A thought runs through my mind. I think about the necessity of the firewood. Several years ago I told myself that I would get a good enough education in order to ensure I could afford to run electric heat during the cold winter months in the house instead of having to cut and chop wood. I was determined that I would not be one of those lazy rednecks who never accomplished anything in life.

Well as the years have gone by, I have obtained that education and I have been successful at multiple careers.I have been able to use that education to obtain corporate positions of employment as well as operate my own business. Over the years I guess I have reached that goal of making enough money to use electric heat in the house. Though it might be a financial inconvenience, I can afford electric heat in the cold months now, yet here I am busily chopping firewood. See, what’s even stranger than me chopping the firewood is the fact that I’m actually kind of enjoying it. I actually look forward to waking up on those cold mornings and sitting by the wood stove and warming up while drinking hot chocolate and making small talk with family. There is a sense of pride and accomplishment in knowing that I’ll be warm this winter because I was willing to work and prepare the wood for heat.

It makes me think about how my though process has severely changed over the years. I’ve gone from despising the wood to loving the wood. Whereas I once was consumed with being the best and greatest at life, now I’m just happy being at home on the mountain.

This may not be the life I once wanted, but it is the life I now love and cherish. I don’t have wealth or fame or popularity, but I know I have the Lord and friends and family who love me and I love them. I wake up everyday with a new found readiness to face the day. What I once lived my life to avoid, I now live my life enjoying. God has most certainly blessed this country boy far beyond what I’ll ever be capable of deserving. All of this just makes me anticipate what the next 20 years will bring my way. Life is a journey, not a competition. Live it one day at a time and soak in all of God’s blessings.

“Boast not thyself of to morrow; for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth.”

— Proverbs 27:1

 

IMG_20140813_142510

Leave a Reply

